Church in a Circle

Last night I was at a meeting looking at the governance of our local church.  We have shifted the way we operate on the ground but have not figured out how to capture the shifts on paper.  We also realize that there are additional shifts we need to make and we have not yet figured out how to make them.

This morning I came across this blog post in one of my feeds.  I have attended church on both the East and West coasts, both in pews and in a circle respectively.  When I have introduced the idea of church in a circle to the pew sitters – some have resisted.  They didn’t like having to look at other people.  I believe they felt like the circle took away their privacy, that they were too vulnerable.

This concerns me.  I am extremely introverted, but I appreciate what it means to participate in a circle and I believe we need spaces to practice being vulnerable.  A few years ago one of our sons was having a very difficult time and we had to decide what to share and with whom.  Our church community became one of the very few spaces that would hold our difficulties and allow us to just pour them out as they were – no dismissing, no fixing – just letting them be.

I think church in a circle is vitally important to us creating the change we want to see in the world, I wonder how we can our pew sitting selves in that direction.

Leave a Reply

